Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Wherein we start a new year and I decide to break my prohibition on discussing religion and politics....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
It is a real life story of a Turkish couple; how they were brought up, how they met, and what trials and tribulations they had to live through after they got married. Their families, during the decline of the Ottoman Empire were both migrated to the places near Istanbul, being close to the capital...
Read more »
Bear Dance
By: M.Levend Gurses
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
From the author of Air Texas World comes his memoirs of a life spent largely abroad (outside the USA where he was born). It spans a major portion of the 20th century from the time of his birth in the early 1940s until the end of his career with a United Nations agency after the events of 9/11....
Read more »
No Regrets Abroad
By: John Northcut
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
I have spent almost ½ a century learning stuff. Why? I learn stuff because knowledge is power. With that power doors open to new experiences and new networks of friends who really know even more stuff. Given such a short potential life span, I have consciously and sometimes unconsciously tried to...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
I've been broken my whole life. From before sense of self. It came from years of anal sex and giving blowjobs. Starting around age four. Continuing to somewhere near 4th Grade. It happened a few times a year. It destroyed any chance I had at being human. This is my story. Every page...
Read more »
Mutant
By: Isaac Roberts
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Snatch the bag, spilling out the devil's bones. Tinkling across the floor, skittering away for what began as the last drip-drop story I would tell my twenty year old son. Red raw, jumping and juking, I trip over the years. Only when the bones land upon the wicked truths am I paused. These words...
Read more »
Whiskey In The River
By: Jenny Socks
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
LIKE TEST PREP presents its workbook series for "Meet Amazing Americans," a website created by US Library of Congress on many great American heroes and heroines. Great for Teachers and Students! This book contains -Comprehension Questions -Vocabulary Practice ...
Read more »
Meet Amazing Americans Workbook: William Jennings Bryan
By: LIKE TEST PREP Meet Amazing Americans
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A true story of a daughter's journey through some of her parents most devastating periods of their lives. About courage, murder, forgiveness and love. A Korean war hero who kept his wounds locked deep inside, only to face an even more heartbreaking tragedy. How he would survive open heart surgery,...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
"When the sun set on North Manitou Island on September 26, 1979, it marked the end of community life on the island. My husband Ken and I watched 'The Glen Shore' depart the island dock, loaded with farm equipment and one passenger, the last employee of the Manitou Island Association. For the first...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Maria is a young mother of two, trying to make a decent life for her family. Raul, the kids' father, is involved in dangerous gang activity, putting all of them in danger. As she tries to keep her family safe, Raul finally puts her in the interrogation room once more, forcing her to make the most...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.