Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Buy now for only $2.99 After helping the City Father in his campaign to collect funds for a charitable cause with their Biking fiesta MacLeish and Mike build a very close relationship with the Mayor's office. Once again the Mayor calls upon MacLeish and Mike to help him out. This...
Read more »
Violent Seduction (Wicked Wheelers MC)
By: Veronica Cox
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Hayden was a Division I collegiate swimmer and qualified for the Olympic trials until an injury put her on the side-lines. Her husband, Liam, grew up in Canada, and worked at a hunting and fishing lodge as a guide and pilot. Hayden pushes back her terror of flying so that Liam can fly them out to...
Read more »
How To Save A Life
By: Carys Cooper
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Have you ever wondered that your life is not entirely yours? That every step, every decision is chosen for you? That someone is guiding your existence? Nicholas Baldwin will discover that no matter how much he tries, his destiny is waiting. A world full of lost souls, ready to be absorbed is...
Read more »
The Story of a Demon
By: Iulia Raileanu
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
This is a preview with originalphotos from 10 issues of the photo ebook series 70's erotic photography. See your Mom's generation sexy and nude in the 70's generation on original photos. This is a photo ebook catalogue with hires photos but no text. Please check also Brandon Carlscons 80's & 90's...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A Brief Paranormal Thriller: Ever wonder what's happening outside an airplane when everything goes wrong?I stood on the road in front of our motel carefully scanning the sky. Dressed: boots and coat, and was holding the backpack I'd been using as carry on luggage in the truck. Most of...
Read more »
The Landing
By: Elizabeth Munro
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When the heir to the throne is treated as an outcast, he has to prove himself before he can rule. Prince Metis Itxaron is the son of a human father and a goblin mother. As heir to the Twin Thrones, he will some day bear the responsibility of ruling two peoples while protecting the...
Read more »
The Maze of Mist
By: A.J. Walker
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Ever since Shel was abandoned by her parents, life has been a game thievery, lies, and surviving on her own. Stealing is all she knows and she’s good at it...until her plans are ruined one day by a handsome stranger. Shel has no idea who the mysterious Rez is, why he foiled her plans and had her...
Read more »
Soul Breaker, Novella 1 (A Fantasy Series)
By: Trip Ellington
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Daring to challenge assumptions about God and the afterlife, the novel St. Peter’s Choice arrives to an audience of those willing to think freely. It is Judgment Day. The “rock” of the Christian religion begins to change his mind about going to heaven after he decides to talk to those sent...
Read more »
St. Peter's Choice: A Novel
By: Dean Hartwell
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When historical novelist Thea Jameson travels to the old Scottish borders to the site of her latest novel for a book launch, she has a sense of being followed. Once she is settled in her accommodations and begins to explore what she believes will be a vacant facility, things are not as they should...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When Gods Bleed takes you into the world surrounding three kings in the year 1496 at West Africa. The first balancing tradition and politics to stabilize a kingdom and remain in power, the second wrestling sacrifice and destiny to rule a kingdom and the third, observing the change of a nation by...
Read more »
When Gods Bleed
By: Njedeh Anthony
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.