Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Vision Boards are a constant in my life. Year by year I watch my life change to the images on my boards. They are an integral part of my existence. In this book you will find people's stories of how their vision board changed their life. Beautiful, colorful pictures of vision boards...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
‘7 Keys to Heaven-on-Earth’ is an inspirational, page-turning book that will have you laughing, crying and remembering how good life can be. Imagine if Wayne Dyer got together with Marian Keyes and Oprah to write a touching, inspirational and emotional self-help book that is easy to read and...
Read more »
7 Keys to Heaven-on-Earth
By: Gracie Love
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Helping your child to learn how to use go to the bathroom and be out of diapers forever is something every parent struggles with and looks forward to. Prices of diapers are only increasing. Potty Training in Three Days: Proven Potty Training Guide To Stress Free Results in 3 Days or Even...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The Ultimate Pumpkin Recipe Guide Adding pumpkin to your diet will help you have optimal health. Pumpkin contains the antioxidant beta-carotene, which helps protect you from heart disease and cancer. Eating this food also helps you slow some of the effects of aging. This...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
With the 5 Ingredient Cookbook, you'll find everything from soups and appetizers, entrees and side dishes, to breads, salads and desserts. You don't need to spend a lot of time searching, planning or preparing. The 101 recipes give you a variety of menu options without being overwhelming. The...
Read more »
101 Quick & Easy 5 Ingredient Recipes
By: Victoria Steele
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The fun at Watt's Research continues as our old friends Steve Bray and Janet Mills attempt to deny their budding relationship. What will Ashley say about this. And will Laura and Michael support another interracial relationship at the office. Find out the answers to these questions...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A BBW looking for love + two hunky bear shifters ready to marry + crazy celebrities, conniving werewolves, and a mail order bride ad = one steamy dramatastic shifter romance! Curvy, independent Sarah is used to dealing with problems on her own. But when her boss cuts her work hours...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
17th century Scotland. A young Border Reiver is preparing to raid a town along the Anglo-Scottish border. But after he is deceived by his band of raiders, he is wounded and left to pay the penalty for his trespassing - death by hanging. Upon receiving...
Read more »
Love's Ransom
By: Gwen Kirkwood
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Lacy was born in the Royal Family to Queen Victoria's sister.Not to long after Lacy's birth her mother died leaving her father the Duke of Mumford to raise her. Needless to say she pretty much raised herself with the exception of her grandfather who taught her horse Breeding. He happened to raise...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Periodical Historical Romantic Saga with lots of passion and love: Can anything good come from engaging in a forbidden tryst?With no money and no place to call home, Helen Smith enters the Boar's Head to escape a blinding...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com