Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal

Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)

by Ben Rehder

4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Introduction From time to time all of us have social conflicts. Sometimes we are invited to dance with people who have more external power than us, for example, a supervisor or an elder sibling or parent. Sometimes we might be invited to struggle with someone we don’t care so much...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Warning: This book is based on a series of actual events and contains sexual content. For Adults 18+ Excerpt: It is not necessary to follow the entire genealogy of the Gallagher family in terms of births and deaths but an overview shows how the family began its pattern of...
Read more »
Sexual Abuse Story: Beaten and Scarred
By: Francine Houtten T. Murphy
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Do you want your baby to sleep well so that you can get your much needed sleep back?Some of you may have stumbled upon a parenting book or two that advocates "tough love" or leaving your precious ones crying until they fall asleep out of exhaustion. But The...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
How to Get Your Ex Back Fast!=====> Get Your FREE BONUSES With This Book! ...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Divorce Recovery: A Step-by-Step guide on how to get Through a Divorce when you don’t want one Hope, Healing and Transformation Divorce is probably one of the most painful experiences that any human being can endure. Almost every aspect of your life is impacted by...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Being a young teenager in today's world is hard enough.But can you imagine what it would be like to be raised in a big city like Hollywood, Florida, then suddenly, though no fault of your own you are forced to reside in the extreme rural backwoods of North Carolina?E-E-K!...
Read more »
The Question (The Question Series Book 1)
By: Jonathon Waterman
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
This is Vol 1 of a 10 volume seminar delivered by the famous motivational speaker and seminar leader Jane John-Nwankwo. After reading this volume, be sure to purchase the remaining 9 volumes. When God said “Let us make man in our image…” Genesis 1:26, He wanted to make a creature full...
Read more »
How to Become A Better Husband Vol 1
By: Jane John-Nwankwo
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Bill Greenhead is a cartoonist and a father of 3 children. This is his account of his first baby adding in experiences with the other 2 in the mix. Funny stuff if you've had them. Not so funny if you're about to. ;-)...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Essentially a psychologically twisted style story, this book contains some offensive language and is suitable for adults only. It touches on sexual and domestic abuse of women, mental health and features three women, in East London, linked through adversity with twists and turns along the way. ...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Abby Colton knew she’d been asked to teach at the reservation school only because they couldn’t find a better candidate. According to Cat Tallman, a better candidate would have been native American instead of a white woman. Determined to fight her in every way he could, there were moments...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com