Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: How to Sponsor Kindle Nation Daily
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A free two-book mystery bundle by #1 bestselling author Blake Pierce, author of ONCE GONE, a #1 bestseller on Amazon with over 350 five star reviews!Here is a bundle of the first books in two Blake Pierce series—the Riley Paige and Mackenzie White series—all here in one convenient...
Read more »
Blake Pierce: Mystery Bundle
By: Blake Pierce
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Every Word: Crossings is a word game in which you try to unscramble letters to fill in as many words as you can on a crossword style grid.You are given five to seven scrambled letters with the goal of finding as many words as you can. When you find a word it gets added to the crossword...
Read more »
Every Word: Crossings
By: Amazon Digital Services
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Free Bonus Books IncludedWhat’s in a name? Everything!In her book Baby Names: The Ultimate List Of Over 888+ Beautiful Names For Boys And Girls With The Meaning And Origins, author Joanna Kendis helps new and expecting parents find the perfect name...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
For a limited time, you can get the latest Bolaji O children's books - in VIDEO! "That Dragon Stole My Horse", for free - click here to find out more > http://bravelittleheroes.com/surprisegift If your kids love superheroes... if they imagine the only way their Mom could do...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
With its 800+ million users, Facebook is every marketers dream. Some markers have found fame and fortune while others have faltered. The secret lies in identifying effective ways to market products of services though social media- which is different from traditional marketing channels.In...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Best Selling Author J.L. Beck brings you book three in the compelling Kingpin Series. Loves will be tested, lives will be lost, and somewhere a long the way we will find peace. -Roughly 308 pages-**STANDALONE**Warning: This book contains content that is suitable...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Ted Bundy, One of this worlds most infamous and blood thirsty man ever livingPS. Don't miss your $300 bonus on the last page."I'm the most cold-hearted son of a bitch you'll ever meet.” – Ted Bundy“I don't think...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
ConsumerShift presents a New Dimensions of Consumer Life Model for making sense of how consumers are changing along two primary dimensions: inner dimension changes being driven by predictable long-term shifts in values, and outer dimension changes in society, technology, the economy, etc. This New...
Read more »
ConsumerShift
By: Andy Hines
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Two troubled teens in New York City, killing for kicks, are tracked by NYPD Detective Sergeant April Woo, popular creation of bestselling author Leslie Glass one of the inventors of a new breed of detectives in contemporary crime fiction.A masterful storyteller of police procedure and...
Read more »
Tracking Time (April Woo Series Book 5)
By: Leslie Glass
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
DIY Organic Beauty Recipes May Just be the Key to All of Your Beauty Needs!There are thousands of beauty products out there, and all of them claiming to be the best and do the most for your skin, hair, and nails. From shampoo ads promising thickness and shine to face wash...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com