Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Leah Reynolds finds herself fighting off dream demons that feel more real than like a nightmare. Now she’s dreaming of a young girl with a butterfly tattoo on her back, running from a monster. She wakes up screaming, sweaty, and afraid that the monster is going to...
Read more »
Deadly Dreams
By: Jennifer Smith
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Cora is just an ordinary girl trying to make it in New York City, when she is attacked one night while walking back to her apartment. Her attacker was run off, but the bite that he gave her as a parting gift has the doctors shaking their heads. Hope is all but lost, when a handsome...
Read more »
Blood Will Tell
By: Megan Berry
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
New revision in place as of 1/8/2012. Lan Carter hated these windowless Troop Transports more than he hated anything else in life. It was true that he hated war in general, with every gram of his being, but yet he hated these windowless Troop Transports even more. A soldier couldn't see...
Read more »
Duty, Honor or Death The Corps Sticks
By: Ronald Wintrick
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When Ranaulf, Lord of Braunwythe finds the little girl unconscious on his lands, he takes it upon himself to become her protector. When his Heather regains her memory, she fades away, back to her own time. Heather had fallen in love with Lord Braunwythe, the man she thought she had invented...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Boxed Set 2 Weight Loss contains the following books:1. Workout At Home Total Body Exercise Plan2. Supplements For Weight Loss 3. Weight Loss Tips4. Aromatherapy Essential oils For Weight Loss...
Read more »
Boxed Set 2 Weight Loss
By: Miriam Kinai
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Yes, we didn't see that one coming! But... we learn from our mistakes!What a neighborhood! Don't you hate bad neighbors? Our planet has plenty of those. We met one over central Russia at 9:20 local time on the morning of Friday, February 15, 2013. The Chelyabinsk...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A certain type of octopus has a detachable penis. Clown fish change sexes. Flatworms fence with their penises. Armadillos have quadruplets. An insect fertilizes herself with her father's sperm. Love and sex in the animal kingdom can be amusing, horrifying and romantic... sometimes all at once....
Read more »
Love and Sex in the Animal Kingdom
By: Sawyer King
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The Mutineer: A Romance of Pitcairn Island by Louis Becke...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
We know that the stones, also called gems, have been attributed since ancient times, different virtues and meanings. In ancient Egypt, for example, the gems were not only used as adornments but also are considered essential for its mystical properties with which to obtain success, fame,...
Read more »
The POWER OF STONES
By: Aaron R. Wilfred
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The Bees Bread: Is formed by the action of three different types of microorganisms: sugar fungi, yeasts and lacto bacteria. The lactic acid fermentation has four phases of microbiological activity, lasts 12 hours and there is growth of bacteria: begins with the appearance of the lacto...
Read more »
The Benefits of Bees Bread
By: Aaron R. Wilfred
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com