Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The 3rd book in the Love To Hate series and sequel to "The Long Run". Cyrus and Hayden's first full summer together starts off on an ominous note. With the reappearance of Cyrus's supposedly dead father comes the first of many challenges which leave Cyrus and Hayden wondering if they'll ever be...
Read more »
Just Push Play (Love To Hate Book 3)
By: Christine McCullough
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Book 2 of the teen action series. Can also be read as a single novel. When Rickie finally gets the call to say that the evil dictator Lord Snider has now been found, he and Starlet go straight to Dragon City to find out what he’s up to; but they soon discover that he’s not after...
Read more »
Freedom Fighters: Dragon City (Book 2)
By: Michelle Leyland
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Ashton Reynolds was focused on one thing: staying true to who she was. And until high school, she’d succeeded. But as boys, their girlfriends, and the pressures of growing up have become a reality, Ashton is finding it more difficult to maintain her originality- to the point of...
Read more »
Worth the Climb
By: Gabriella Christine
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Seventeen-year-old Lynn refuses to grieve for her dying father. She’s more concerned about Pluto losing its status in the solar system. Snubbing her dysfunctional family, Lynn spends most of her time with her telescope, trying to find the rejected planet. Then she meets Peter in the...
Read more »
Walking Off Pluto
By: Natalie Blank
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
"I'm not gonna date a wrench monkey." Ritter Lehman is Miami's most successful orthopedic surgeon, but despite his model looks and his hard body, his reputation scares away potential boyfriends. Alissa introduces Ritter to a willowy young man who doesn't know enough of...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Fifteen year old Niamh finds herself locked in a cell in a foreign country with her only memory a grisly scene of blood splashing onto snow. With the help of psychiatrist Sabine Graf, Niamh begins to unravel her traumatic family history until she ultimately discovers the shocking secret of the...
Read more »
Blood and Snow
By: Sarah Wray
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Centuries ago, when the Great Virus emerged, all were blindsided… Except for the Eminent, whose founders prepared for the pandemic and successfully isolated their community within the walls of the Citadel. But the Eminent were not the only ones who survived. Eventually, the exposed Plebs gathered...
Read more »
Eminent (Part I): The Daughter
By: Paige Hill
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
It’s not easy being “blessed” with a special power. Especially when they want to kill you for it. Amber is a teenage empath. She has the unique ability to share the emotions and feelings of other people. Sometimes it’s a blessing. Mostly, it’s a curse. ...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
OVER 40 FREE BONUS BOOKS INCLUDED! ** Get this amazing book by bestselling author Dale Waller ** This book is intended for the novice but does include several advanced topics for the more experienced reader. If you're...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
We simply just can't shower love and affection to our dogs,how to have a better pet? This book will let you know how dog behave,how their memory works and more..... By taking the steps,you'll be able to understand your dog better,train better and strengthen the bond. Inside you...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com