Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
In the current climate the Christian is being urged to build relationships, to open in free fellowship with others and to trust those they relate to. A stern warning is here given. Open to the king of Babylon and all you will experience is "confusion". The Christian is cautioned to exercise...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
This is a discussion of the backmatter of Kate Chopin's The Awakening in something close to MLA format....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Valuable Lessons To Be Learned Behind Steve Jobs' Inspirational Life Story *** Get this Amazon Best Seller now for the special promotion price of $2.99! Regularly priced at $4.99 *** Steve Jobs - The Inspirational Life Story Of Steve Jobs, The Fruit...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
DEMONS: True Stories of Demonic Possessions & Demonic Attacks. Demons & Deadly Encounters. A Journey into the ultimate Heart of Darkness. True Stories. Excerpts; ‘It’s the middle of the night and he thinks he’s been asleep for a while but he’s wide awake now....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The Age Old Question, How to Become Successful? While there are no guarantees, there are hard facts which support certain pathways Read how excessively successful people have used meditation to change their bank accounts and their future. Understand why and how...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Have you ever wanted four Amazon bestsellers in one book? Well now you can have them with Pastor Joey Bauer's "Gospel of Grace Book Pack." In this exciting new gift to the readers you can have four of Pastor Joey's Christian Inspirational and Christian Motivational books in one big book! In the...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
In this messy love story, an unlikely hero is chosen by the empress of a bizarre cult and he becomes a new kind of paranormal like the world has never seen. Throw in some pungent explosions and greenhouse taboo, a deadly new drug and choices made for love or money, and the forces of good will fight...
Read more »
Nogo Gogo
By: Beaird Glover
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Join FBI Agents Emma Monroe and Zack Armstrong. She’s a Siren. He’s a Werewolf. Their mission is redemption. Emma Monroe is a Fallen Siren, cursed by the gods and banished to Earth for her failure to prevent the kidnapping of Persephone. She’s had many names and many...
Read more »
Captured: A Fallen Siren Prequel
By: S.J. Harper
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
“Detective Healy is back to face overwhelming forces in a thriller with so many twists and turns that I couldn't put it down.” Ann Abrams “Realistic, complex characters and a mystery which grows darker and ever more fascinating. Heart-stopping excitement.” Chris Child ...
Read more »
SURVIVORS (crime thriller books)
By: T. J. BREARTON
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The fascinating life cycle of cicadas illustrated beautifully along the plot of a dramatized story: the long journey of a cicada nymph trapped underground for seventeen years; the friendly and hostile subterranean creatures he encounters; and last but not least, his triumphant debut in the...
Read more »
My Life as a Cicada
By: M. Eigh
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.