Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
**Feeling STUCK in your business, without a lot of spare cash or the right skills to move your company forward? Consider this FREE method to boost you business: finding a Mentor to work with!**A business mentor can be one of the best ways to help you gain the knowledge and skills you...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The Annual Report is prepared by the Executive Directors of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA)--collectively known as the World Bank--in accordance with the by-laws of the two institutions. The President of the IBRD...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
After 4 years of hard study and steady drinking Ashley Sandeman graduated from university and found himself in the business world ready to make a difference. The only trouble was that everything he’d learned in business school didn’t have much application in the real business...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Wherever you are, this book can show you how to start a business to fund your self-sufficient lifestyle! Wouldn't you like to escape the hectic pace of modern life and enjoy a worry-free, self-reliant lifestyle? A lifestyle in which your family builds and shares lasting...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
There are two major issues most face when wanting to start a business...time and money. This book provides a helpful guide for starting your own business with advice on setting it up, marketing and getting started. It also provides several businesses to consider that are low-cost and can be started...
Read more »
Businesses You Can Start Now
By: Jean Atkins
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Many books on the market talk about leaders and types of leadership but they seem to always gloss over the downside. They myopically focus on individuals that are positive, uplifting, and supportive. They identify those that we mentor and want to emulate. Yet, those individuals are not the only...
Read more »
The Dark Side of Leadership: Understanding Dark Traits that Hinder Today's Leaders
By: Fallon Lawson, Avery Mazyck, Seth Montgomery, Jarrod Moody
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Learn Everything You Need To Know About Kindle Unlimited Now! Stop Wondering if You should join. Let me share the good and the bad! * * *LIMITED TIME OFFER! 40% OFF! (Regular Price $9.99)* * * Are you considering joining the kindle unlimited...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Make Money on YouTube Today only, get this Amazon bestseller for just $0.99. Regularly priced at $4.99. Read on your PC, Mac, smart phone, tablet or Kindle device. Just about everyone uses YouTube today to find videos on pretty much any topic you can...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
It's every trader's dream to quit his job and make a living trading from home. No boss, no commute, flexible hours, and lots of money. But how do you actually do it? In this book, Matthew Green will provide you with a simple road...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
This book is a rewrite and a combination of "Debunk the Myths in Investing" and its sequel "Investing Strategies: Updated and Profitable". Many chapters have been rearranged to have a smoother flow and updated, and some non-essential chapters have been deleted. We start with Finding Stocks, Analyze...
Read more »
The Art of Investing
By: Tony Pow
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com