Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: How to Sponsor Kindle Nation Daily
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Here are 2 Business Ideas to Help You Start Your Entrepreneurship Training Today!NO HUGE CAPITAL REQUIRED TO GET STARTED.100% STEP BY STEP - NO HOLDS BARRED TRAINING.NO BUSINESS OR MARKETING EXPERIENCE REQUIRED.Here's a preview of what you will...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Being an introvert does not mean one is shy, socially awkward, or lacking in confidence. Being an introvert simply means you recharge from solitude rather than social situations. Often it is a sign of intelligence. Answer...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
We are each heroes in the making. How can this be? Because we can reflect on our actions. We have the potential to become heroes in every aspect and every action of our lives...Being a hero is much more than committing a heroic act. One does not magically morph into a...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Let the chase begin… Six years ago, with the financial collapse of her country and the death of her parents, Carrie Ashworth swore to protect her siblings. She has fought to build a life for them in her illegal clan. Now home and recovering from a government-spread virus...
Read more »
The Pursuit (Citizens of Logan Pond Book 3)
By: Rebecca Belliston
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Do you want to learn Spanish in an easy and affordable way? Welcome to this training for the Kindle edition of the book “Spanish for Travelers”. One of the frequently visited countries in the world are Spanish-speaking countries, like Spain...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Rediscover the joy of simplicity and celebration in everyday pleasuresHygge is a Danish concept that, when loosely translated, means coziness. However, there is a lot more to hygge and its innate benefits. In this guide, we shall be discussing everything Hygge. By doing so, you...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Life was pleasantly normal for Gala Rhyce—that is, until her mom moved the family to Flagler Beach, Florida. Now—despite the palm trees, ocean breezes, and cute surfer guys—Gala is miserable…until she meets Trista. Trista makes a great friend, except for one thing: she's a ghost. The...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
*** Read It FREE With Kindle Unlimited Or Prime Membership! Don't have a Kindle device? No worries! Read it on your PC, Mac, Tablet or Smartphone! ***This book contains proven steps and strategies on how to play Boom Beach and get ahead without cheating.Heard about Boom...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Get TANGLED in thrill, drama, and pleasure, all one box set!**Get 30000+ Words Of Thrilling & Steamy Biker Romance With A 40 Bonus Romance Collection Included!** This collection includes: BROKENBRUISED...
Read more »
TANGLED: MC Biker Romance Bundle
By: Ponderosa Publishing
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A self-proclaimed nerd, Jackie is skeptical when Caleb – a hot varsity hockey player – shows an interest in her. Most people would call Jackie a nerd, and she wears that badge proudly. She's been spending most of her time at college looking for a suitably geeky boyfriend....
Read more »
The Big Score
By: Elle Jordan
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com