Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Slave to the Pack: Gay Paranormal Erotica by Kirby Cooper The year is 850 AD and Iftihkar is a young recruit in the army of the Abbasid Caliphate that controls the country of Al-Hejaz. Iftihkar is 18 years, old, with dark curly hair and fiery dark eyes, with a strong will to...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Move over Percy Jackson. The Yogi's Curse has arrived... Zoe and Zak are back in India. Again. And this time they're attending Moonstock Himalayan Boarding School, which might seem fun except for the fact that the school itself is a little strange. Students ride elephants...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
XXX...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
After a night spent at a run-down cabin in the woods, estranged friends Zoe and Boggs wake to find that the dead have risen. They flee, hoping to find safety, but instead find themselves surrounded by their worst nightmares. Joined by two other survivors, they will face unimaginable horrors and...
Read more »
Grace Lost (The Grace Series Book 1)
By: M. Lauryl Lewis
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Best friends reunite so one can meet the other’s husband. She’s decided to really get to know him, though, and before long they’re all three in an anal sex threesome. That’s just one of the stories you’ll find in this collection of five FFM ménage a trois erotica stories. Click now...
Read more »
Happy Threesomes! Five FFM Ménage a Trois Erotica Stories
By: Fran Diaz, Jeanna Yung, Hope Parsons, Kaddy DeLora, Geena Flix
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Teddy had no idea when he walked into the gym that night that he'd have the gym all to himself with an MMA fighter he'd been sneaking looks at for the past few months. But when they know that they truly have the building all to themselves, the clothes come off and the true workout begins. ...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A woman becomes enamored and even obsessed with a stranger she met on a road trip. Her focus changes her whole sexual outlook, and then a remarkable coincidence puts the two of them in the same place. She’s shocked to find the stranger not only willing to be with her but also willing to be with...
Read more »
Sexy Threesome Tales: Five FFM Ménage a Trois Erotica Stories
By: Carolyne Cox, Ericka Cole, Nancy Barrett, Fran Diaz, Molly Synthia
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
I had always found older men attractive, but none more so than Mr. Harding, my Psychology teacher. He had dark, wavy hair, thick muscles that rippled through his dress shirts, and smoky gray eyes that just seemed to call my name at every moment during his class. For weeks I tried to...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Here are five exciting stories of sweet wives becoming slut wives. With lots of fun like gangbang sex, wife swaps, and more; you can be sure there’s nothing traditional about these marriages. There’s rough sex, first anal sex, first lesbian sex, and even double penetration. So, click now and...
Read more »
Hot Wife Mania: Five Sexy Wife Erotica Stories
By: Erika Hardwick, Connie Hastings, Jessica Crocker, Kandace Tunn, Julie Bosso
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
After arriving at the haunted house, Clive is separated from his friends in an attempt to locate a powerful spell scroll. Among a swirling mass of otherworldly party animals, the massive pink incubus struggles to make headway in his latest quest. He is quickly approached by one of the...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com