Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Library Journal
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
In this slightly salacious Cinderella, P. I. fairy tale mystery short story, Cinderella dons a disguise to bring a big bad wolf to justice twenty years, three kids and a few extra pounds after the ball....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Tyrrhenian Sea The two teenage sisters clung to Cass as he hugged the mast of the small leaky fishing boat. The once-bubbly girls were now scared witless. He was a little disturbed too. If they sank, he would likely die as well. The girls couldn’t swim, but he could. They would take him...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
An introductory short story telling the exciting history of a world lost into darkness. This preview will introduce the culture of a new world called Nalabec. Each turn you take unfolds a dark history. Can you make it to the last turn?...
Read more »
Phusen Noix: By N.A. Finlay
By: Nathan Finlay
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Angela Johnson, at fifty-three was far too old to embark on a life of playing fantasy games she told herself. She was a sad soul, with no one in her real life as close friends. All her family had long since moved away. When she stumbled onto an Internet world called an Another Place, her life...
Read more »
ANOTHER PLACE: THE CROSSOVER
By: Ri Char Barness
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
“Know this: there are those who can see ahead, just as you do also, they see the future. Yet they use it to gain power over those who seek them out so they may control them, and not in love to guide and warn as the servants of Dominio use it. They are mystics who garble strange gibberish that...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A thousand years ago, on the world of Claire-Agon, a war raged between men and dragons. When an expedition of elite warriors goes missing in the fetid Kero Swamp, Olivia Moross, Priestess of Astor and daughter of the regional prefect, is caught in the conflict between her divine holy...
Read more »
The Black Dragon: A Claire-Agon Dragon Book
By: Salvador Mercer
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Chapters of a larger story, Maive's Maigyk. Magical Essence of Tears creates a world of forgotten souls reborn as Oak Trees in an ancient grove in the New World....
Read more »
Cupped Hands, Magic Tears
By: Whitney Lee Preston
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
If only Joe knew of a destiny that awaits. If only Joe knew the find of an ancient artifact would bring such heavy responsibilities. Joe’s not the type to encourage religion, but if a higher being exists, he may just be in for a treat. Is he a fallen angel, a before,...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Aiko has the amazing ability to see into the invisible spiritual world and fight hoards of demons intent on destroying young people through suicide. Together with her friends she answers heaven’s call to stop the advance of evil in her city every day. When they are called on to...
Read more »
Aiko: Teenage Demon Fighter
By: Mark Olmos
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
"You will never defeat the kingdom of darkness unless you conquer the chambers of your own heart." Thus had their mentor Xenon warned Marcus Maximus and his friends in Quest For the Kingdom Part I The Legend of the Great Pearl. Now as they continue their journey at the mercy of the...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com