Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: How to Sponsor Kindle Nation Daily
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Warning: Contains HOT and Forbidden MM Cowboy Romance Scenes that don't leave much to the imagination! Joe has been living under the watchful eye of his father for too long. The small town called Blessed is starting to feel like a prison that Joe might never escape from. ...
Read more »
Gay Romance: Son of a Priest
By: Joaquin Milhovich
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A global catastrophe has returned earth to the Iron Age and killed six billion people. Even the billionaires were tricked and eliminated. An Oxford intelligentsia have taken over the planet. Can such smart people rebuild the world in a better way? With help from the galactic federation, perhaps...
Read more »
Oratorio in Ursa Major
By: David Dalton
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A Standalone Short Story with No Cliffhanger!Lillian Davis has spent most of her life feeling dissatisfied. Stuck in a dead-end job as a high school teacher, Lillian knows that if she doesn’t take control of her life that this is as good as it’ll get. In a sudden...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Sherlock got a parcel through mail....He tilted the cardboard box with a pair of tongs. Something plastic thumped against the side. Another plastic capsule could been seen just inside the first, and through the distortion of the plastic there was... something. Sherlock tilted the lamp...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Stories of the fantastic and the bizarre. To be pulled into another universe to experience the unusual. To adventure to dangerous places. To have your way of life change in a moment. To face reality or is it all a dream....
Read more »
Short Story Collection III
By: Corey Melin
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Some years ago I wrote a series of reflections and stories containing the testimony of my life. I was not planning to show them to many people, let alone publish them. My intention was simply to share them with close friends and family.But gradually I found these stories increasing in number....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Kaleidoscope is Marcela’s Del Sol’s first work of fiction; a collection of beautifully written reflections about the life and struggles of a woman co-existing with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome (PTSD) and Dissociative Identity Syndrome (DID).Marcela Del Sol is an Australian writer...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Tom Curren set a goal to move up and away from his working class roots and into the white collar world whose lifestyle he had for so long admired. Struggling against the odds he found a crack and worked his way in, the charmed life that he had sought seeming to be finally laid bare before him....
Read more »
All Of My Heroes Are Ghosts
By: Robert Wern
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Explore the Fascinating World of Yoga and Lose Weight TODAY!With Yoga: Yoga for Beginners - Weight Loss, Stress Relief to Improve Your Health & Fitness, you can ultimately learn all about relaxation, stretch your entire body, and lose weight...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When a retired colleague reveals a possible miscarriage of justice, Detective Chief Inspector Evans is unimpressed. He can see no reason to doubt that Aaron Warner killed his mother Amy, a former rock band vocalist. Detective Sergeant Tessa Turnbull is given two days to disprove the claim that...
Read more »
Quiet Verses
By: Stephen Barnes
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com