Why should I provide my email address?

Start saving money today with our FREE daily newsletter packed with the best FREE and bargain Kindle book deals. We will never share your email address!
Sign Up Now!

She never asked for the unusual abilities she possesses. Would they torment her the rest of her life? The Awakening by Jill Sanders

Meet a most unlikely crime fighter made out of things most people throw away…. Garbageman by Erik Dean

A vivid portrait of our closest relatives… Through a Window: My Thirty Years with the Chimpanzees of Gombe by renowned British primatologist Jane Goodall

An emotional tale of how one young women’s “monsters” manifested into an eating disorder… In The Presence of Monsters: The story of a fat girl, who wasn’t by Gabriella Leigh

Epic Fantasy Alert! A new hero must rise, or all is lost… The Chaos Gate by Jeff Pantanella

Someone has been sabotaging Miss Josie’s business, and all signs point to her evil ex… Love, Chocolate, And A Dog Named Al Capone by Abigail Drake

Hundreds of rave reviews for this cute story with an important message: Paula And The Pandemic by Dorothea Laurence

Representing vicious killers comes at a price, and if anyone discovers criminal defense attorney Sarah Knight’s dark secrets, she’ll be the one on trial…Dark Moon by Deborah Hawkins

There’s a war in the streets. No one is safe as bodies fall and houses go up in flames… Jocelyn’s War: A Novel (Journeys Down a Long Dark Road) by Jason Ryan Dale

There’s no one she can trust—not with her life, her heart, or her mother’s legacy… Salvaging Truth by USA Today bestselling author Joanne Jaytanie

Hearty & Delicious Meals You Can Prepare Ahead! Knack Slow Cooking by Linda Larsen

A killer is taunting him, not for the thrill of being chased, but with the intention of recruiting him… I See You by Elle Gray

previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow
Slider

Happy Saint Patty’s Day! For The Greatest Readers In The World, Everyday is a Lucky One Here at KND! Here Are Today’s Brand New Kindle Freebies! Joan Hall Hovey’s NOWHERE TO HIDE, Richard Bard’s BRAINRUSH, William S. Shepard’s MURDER ON THE DANUBE and Judith Price’s SUDDEN DECEPTION

With hundreds of new books turning up free each day now in the Kindle Store, it can be tough to hone in on books that you will actually want to read. And most of the new free books will be free for just a day or two at a time, so we are working hard to make sure that you do not miss the ones you want!

Here are a few books that have just gone free by authors who have already proven to be favorites with Kindle Nation readers. Please grab them now if they look interesting to you, because they probably won’t stay free for long!

Important Note: This post is dated Saturday, March 17, 2012, and the titles mentioned here may remain free only until midnight PST tonight.

Please note: References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and even for US customers, prices may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

*  *  *

Nowhere to Hide

by Joan Hall Hovey

4.8 stars – 18 Reviews
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:

Raised in an atmosphere of violence and unpredictability, Ellen and Gail Morgan have banded together, survivors of a booze-fertilized battleground, forming a fierce united front against an often cold and uncaring world. When their parents are killed in a car crash, Ellen becomes the mother figure for Gail.When fifteen years later Gail is brutally raped and murdered in her shabby New York basement apartment, practically on the eve of her big breakthrough as a singer, Ellen is inconsolable. Rage at her younger sister’s murder has nearly consumed her. So when her work as a psychologist wins her an appearance on the evening news, Ellen seizes the moment. Staring straight into the camera, she challenges the killer to come out of hiding: “Why don’t you come after me? I’ll be waiting for you.”

Phone calls flood the station, but all leads go nowhere. The police investigation seems doomed to failure. Then it happens: a note, written in red ink, slipped under the windshield wipers of her car, ‘YOU’RE IT.’ Ellen has stirred the monster in his lair … and the hunter has become the hunted!

*  *  *

4.6 stars – 458 Reviews
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Or check out the Audible.com version of BRAINRUSH, a Thriller (Book One)
in its Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged!
Here’s the set-up:

Listed in the Wall Street Journal as the #1 Bestselling Action/Adventure in their “Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers” (Dec 9, 2011).

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent–including Battista, one of the world’s most dangerous terrorists.  To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan–where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard’s novel is a must-read for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the reader to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

*  *  *

4.6 stars – 5 Reviews
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:
“Robbie” Cutler, a thirtyish American career diplomat, is beginning an assignment as Political Officer at the American Embassy in Budapest. He previously served as Consul in Bordeaux (where he was yanked out for his own safety after exposing a Basque terrorist leader, in Vintage Murder, the first in this series of Robbie Cutler diplomatic mysteries).
The return to Budapest of a prominent Hungarian-American, Janos Magassy, sets off a train of events. Magassy had been the leader of a resistance group during the 1956 Hungarian Revolution. Before its members can meet again, Magassy is brutally murdered in a side street in Obuda. Given the murdered man’s national prominence, American Ambassador Eleanor Horton tells Robbie to keep a close eye on the police investigation. Working in tandem with Inspector Racz of Central Budapest Police Headquarters, Robbie develops leads in the murder.
The 1956 circle linked Eva Molnar, whom Robbie’s father, a former diplomat, had failed to save in 1956, and the murdered Magassy. Included also are a currently rising Hungarian politician, Imre Mohacsi, a Ministry of Justice official, Attila Nemzeti, and a prosperous German banker, Attila Szepvaros. Their stories are played out in a continuing flashback to the events of 1956.
Complicating Robbie’s investigation is the refusal of the Hungarian Government to open its own intelligence files from the period. Who was the police spy that betrayed them? The search takes him and his visiting sister Evalyn to the border fortress town of Gyula on the Hungarian plain, and even into the Hungarian ethnic regions of Transylvania, for a dramatic encounter with the reclusive Eva Molnar.
A socially adept bachelor, Robbie is much in demand at the many receptions and dinners given by the Budapest diplomatic circuit. He feels himself increasingly drawn to Julie Kovatch, the neglected young wife of the Australian Ambassador, Alexander Kovatch, a violent man, and himself an ethnic Hungarian who had fled that country as a teenager after the 1956 upheaval.
His romantic life complicates the mystery as Robbie gradually unearths Kovatch’s 1956 past. Robbie’s Uncle Seth Cutler, a nationally prominent former intelligence official, finds out from CIA biographic records that Kovatch is the brother of another member of Magassy’s 1956 resistance group, the missing Csaba Kovacs. Ambassador Kovatch is also trying to find the intelligence agent who killed his brother in 1956. The trouble is that Kovatch is a driven but mistaken Count of Monte Cristo who is being set up by the real killer, as he investigates the banker, the politician, and the government official who were members of his brother’s resistance group.
Post Cold War Hungary is a compelling place to be. Hungarian domestic politics involves an uneasy transition to democracy. The old Warsaw Pact intelligence connections are still there, as Robbie begins to suspect that the real motivation in the Magassy killing is a contemporary one. Is someone protecting money laundering by the Russian Mafia? Like neighboring Vienna of “The Third Man” period everyone, it seems, has something to hide, or to blame on the past. And the Russian Mafia will not hesitate to intervene when their interests seem threatened.

*  *  *

4.0 stars – 16 Reviews
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:
New Version March 1 2012: This professionally edited and complex thriller, reflecting the realities of the current political climate, details a dangerous and fast-paced journey through mysterious locations, with a stunning conclusion in the grand middle eastern city of Dubai. It depicts the personal journey and physical dangers a woman must take on to save the man she loves — and to save the world.

The protagonist, Jill Oliver, is a contemporary American heroine–a fresh new take on the popular type of action hero previously embodied by Jack Bauer of the hit series “24” and the characters of Tom Clancy, James Patterson and other bestselling authors.

Jill is a terrorist profiler for the US Marshall Special Operations Group and former Remote Viewer for the FBI. When her new husband David, a war correspondent for Time, disappears while on assignment in the Middle East, Jill embarks upon a journey deep into the region to find him.

Deception and danger plague her every move. Her only hope is the help of a mysterious and handsome Arabian man who escorts her to the foothills on the Turkmenistan/Afghanistan border. Ultimately, however, Jill is left on her own in a sinister web of intrigue. As she overcomes both fear of external dangers and her internal demons, she learns what true deception really is.

(This is a sponsored post.)
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap