Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: How to Sponsor Kindle Nation Daily
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Are уоu running your lifе or iѕ life running уоu? If уоu are nоt in сhаrgе and dirесting уоur lifе whо is?In order tо рlау thе gаmе оf life wе have tо undеrѕtаnd the rulеѕ оf the gаmе. Chаngе can only соmе thrоugh аwаrеnеѕѕ....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
My name is Nick Carver and I have a superpower.Be jealous. Be very, very jealous. I've only begun to touch the edges of the power lying coiled inside of me. No one knows what I'm capable of. Of how far I can go, least of all me. That should scare me but it doesn't because let's be...
Read more »
Fearless (Bird of Stone #2)
By: Tracey Ward
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
An Amish girl following a difficult path. Will she find the strength to complete it?Eighteen-year-old Ruth Kepthart isn’t looking forward to her Rumspringa at all. All she wants to do is join the Amish faith in full, be baptized, and marry. And deep down inside, she already...
Read more »
The Amish Heart
By: Katie Fisher
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
<Foreword>If you try to see beautiful things, you can see beautiful things.Would you like to go looking for a beautiful scenery?The destination of this trip is Kamakura, Japan.Well then, Let’s go together.Shinsuke Shinohara...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Download Today and You'll Get a BONUS eBook At The End!Do You Want To Learn How To Make Money Online In Your Sleep?This is a step-by-step guide to get you on your way to joining the thousands of affiliate marketers who are making tens of thousands of dollars a...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Learn What You Can Do With Echo Show (Alexa, Echo Show, Smart Home Assistant, Tips and Tricks)Have you ever heard of the Echo Show?If so, then you’ve probably wondered just what kinds of functions it has, or even the span of its abilities. If you haven’t, then you’re in...
Read more »
Amazon Echo Show
By: Development Inc
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Trying to have a baby can be a happy journey for the couple-- but when the results do not come fast, it can also be frustrating. It is true that there are a lot of options available should a husband and wife fail to have a child of their own right away, but why settle for those drastic options if...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A Travel Adventure for Children. Kevin and his family visit Mexico. Kevin improves his geography when he learns how to read the map while the family is traveling in Mexico. Children are introduced to the concept of an itinerary, travel arrangements and the different components involved in...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A Multicultural Travel Adventure for Children Ages 6 to 12 years.Images of children from around the world, sharing two common denominators, education and sports.Children can experience mufti-cultural differences from around the world when you share this travel...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Magic is real? Big deal. Bills still gotta be paid.Especially when you’re heading into vet med. Emma Chase is nothing special – if anything, with a roomie who turns into a jaguar on a regular basis, she’s the sidekick, not the heroine. Her superpowers have more to do with acing...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

,

Comments are closed.