Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 5,000+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers.
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
by Ben Rehder
4.3 stars - 27 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday as you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy. Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this debut comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.
One Reviewer Notes:
It's not easy to be consistently absurd for an entire book. This debut novel is a complete success, tearing out of Texas chock-full of characters so nutty and events so strange it seems as if they must be real. Game warden John Marlin has been best friends with Phil Colby since grade school. Marlin essentially grew up on the vast spread of the Colby ranch, and he was nearly as crushed as Colby when the ranch was lost. The new owner, Roy Swank, is as greedy and unscrupulous a man as Texas can produce-and everyone knows Texas does things in a big way. Swank can be petty, too: he insisted Colby leave his tame deer, aptly named Buck, pointing out that native whitetails belong to the state. Swank has set up a profitable deer farm, and hunting season is right around the corner. He's got a big opening day planned, complete with rich and famous guests. Marlin, meanwhile, comes across some white powder that spilled from a poached deer-one that belongs to Swank. There's also a wildlife biologist dressed up as a doe, a doe dressed in stiletto heels and a garter belt, as well as some frequently drunk good ol' boys named Red and Billy Don. Rehder gives Marlin a little time to talk about hunting, to explain that it doesn't have to be merely a killing spree. Although his observations seem somewhat forced, it's probably a worthwhile interjection. The writing here is confident and vigorous; the tone is quintessentially Texan and relentlessly wry. There's sure to be a long career for this happy, wacky series.
Publishers Weekly
About the Author
Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people Ben Rehder wanted to become a writer ever since he was dropped on his head as a toddler. As he grew into a young adult and the vertigo gradually dissipated, his passion for literature grew. Ben longed to craft the type of soul-stirring prose that would touch people's lives and help them explore new emotional horizons. But he went to work at an ad agency instead… Fate played a hand one day when Ben's father-in-law tossed him a copy of a Carl Hiaasen novel. And then it hit him. It literally hit him, right in the forehead. When the swelling went down and Ben had a chance to read the book, he discovered a type of fiction he had never experienced before--the comic crime novel! He loved the wacky characters, the zany plots, the interesting writing that threw a good deal of humor into the mix. So Ben set out to write his own novel. After many grueling minutes in front of a computer, Ben was proud to present Buck Fever. Like many best-selling classics, Buck Fever has lots and lots of verbs, prepositions, adjectives, and the occasional gerund. It was even nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel!
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: How to Sponsor Kindle Nation Daily
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
DescriptionHow to Improve Online SalesIf you have an online business then an effective website is an absolute necessity for successful sales and growth. This book will take you through the steps necessary to greatly enhance your website and help you drive...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The most dangerous romances are those when two friends agree to not fall in love and commit to not be committed to each other.When Jack and Liselle find themselves alone after having been cheated on, they decide to use each other to help get over the pain and heartache. Their plan was...
Read more »
The Rebound
By: Jack Gunthridge
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Abigail Tyler is pleased to present her new picture book for kids. This easy reading book for children contains facts about adoption, and how a new family is formed.This thoughtful picture book is written for children ages 4 to 10. It contains a variety of adoption specific topics on...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A first kiss is hard to forget—and Kelsey Brian’s just walked into the bar where she works and isn’t planning to leave anytime soon. It figures. With her last semester of college finally here, Kelsey can’t wait to finish the year smoothly and start a new chapter. She doesn’t need to drive...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Jack Harden is your average good-old-fashioned American truck driver.You can ask the girl he's got duct-taped in the back of his cab, she'll tell you.Oh, don't worry - it's okay. His wife knows all about it. She told him to do it.Originally...
Read more »
Taken
By: Adam Light
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Incredible Spanish ingredients combined with interesting and innovative recipes from diverse Spanish and Latin American regions. Popular ideas and ingredients hailed from ancient Spanish culture provide inspiration for a vast array of cuisines to tempt every dining table. Discovering...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Getting Your FREE BonusDownload this book, read it to the end and see "BONUS: Your FREE Gift" chapter after the conclusion.Winter Gardening: (FREE Bonus Included)Top-10 Vegetables You Can Plant In The Middle Of...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Shazmpt has been prepared his whole life to complete the prophesy; however until recently, he was unaware of his true identity as a powerful war wizard.Hidden on an island in a time realm not his own, he must now search for ancient relics in order to stop the growing evil in the world. All he...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Aotearoa: a land of majestic scenery and unique wildlife. Better known as New Zealand, Aotearoa is a destination for travelers and wildlife enthusiasts. Many of the animals found there, including the majority of bird species, are only found in New Zealand. Unfortunately, many of these...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
**AMAZON BESTSELLER**Gabrielle Willis is smart. She's funny. And oh yes, she's a bit klutzy.When Gabrielle left sunny California bound for the energy of Manhattan, she was willingly leaving the life she had known for the new life she would create. But was she really leaving...
Read more »
Love Love
By: Beth Michele
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Kindle Free Book Alert for Friday, July 27: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 5,000+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … Ben Rehder’s Buck Fever (Blanco County Mysteries) (Today’s Sponsor – $4.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library)

,

Comments are closed.