Taking the best facets of fantasy, science fiction, and philosophy, and mixing it all together into a genus all its own, Cadman’s Gambit (Shader) by D.P. Prior is an intelligent, epic fantasy & readers agree you won’t be able to put this one down – 4.2 Stars and Just $2.99 or Free via Kindle Lending Library

4.2 stars – 14 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:

Dr Ernst Cadman has led a quiet life, but that’s how he’s wanted it all these hundreds of years. With a secret like his, anonymity and caution are the best friends a man can have. Nothing could tempt him from the safety of his parasitic existence at the heart of the city of Sarum—at least nothing this side of the Abyss.

Cadman stakes everything on obtaining the artefact that once destroyed an entire civilization, but in so doing he draws the gaze of a sinister presence from beyond the stars.

Meanwhile, Deacon Shader, veteran of the war against the undead armies of the Liche Lord, has one last fight in him. This time it’s just a tournament, with the prize a sword steeped in myth. Win or lose, Shader intends to defy his Templum master and retire to the Abbey of Pardes.

When a horror from the past wrecks Shader’s monastic dream and leads him to plague torn Sarum, he finds an ancient power unleashed that imperils more than he could possibly imagine—a power now in the hands of Dr Cadman.

Gods tremble, and worlds will fall unless Shader can conquer his personal demons and accept the fate he’s been prepared for since birth.

“Cadman’s Gambit” is the first book of the six part SHADER series by D.P. Prior. An excerpt of Book 2, “Best Laid Plans”, is at the end of the Kindle version of this book. There are also excerpts from three other great fantasy books.

The Kindle version also includes the stunning cover art of Mike Nash, two beautifully rendered maps, and a clickable table of contents.

One Reviewer Notes

“Cadman’s Gambit is a work of pure intellect, taking the best facets of fantasy, science fiction, and philosophy, and mixing it all together into a genus all its own. It’s surprisingly humorous at times, and the Kantian undertones of consciousness as it relates to time and space resounded with me greatly. I couldn’t put it down, though I took my time with it, wanting to bathe myself in every word, every turn of a phrase.” – Amazon Reviewer, 5 Stars

About The Author

D.P. Prior is the author of the acclaimed SHADER series of fantasy books and the Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf.

His main writing influences are Edgar Rice-Burroughs, David Gemmell, Stephen Donaldson, Mary Doria Russell, Robert E. Howard, and Michael Moorcock. He is a full-time author and editor of fiction.

For all news on the work of D.P. Prior please visit http://dpprior.blogspot.com

Works to date:

Black Death (unpublished) – an absured comedy for the theatre
Megan (Homunculus 1995) – a play in three acts
Megan (completey revised; unpublished) – a play in three acts
The Resurrection of Deacon Shader (Homunculus 2009)
Foundations for a Better Physique (Homunculus 2009)
The F.I.S.H. Training Log (Homunculus 2009)
Thanatos Rising (Homunculus 2010)
The Ant-Man of Malfen (Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf part 1)
Cadman’s Gambit (SHADER series book 1) (Homunculus 2011)
Best Laid Plans (SHADER series book 2) (Homunculus 2011)
The Axe of the Dwarf Lords (Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf part 2) (Homunculus 2012)
The Scout and the Serpent (Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf part 3) (Homunculus 2012)
The Ebon Staff (Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf part 4) (Homunculus 2012)
Bane of the Liche Lord (Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf part 5) (TBR 2012)
The Nameless Dwarf Omnibus (Books 1-3 of the Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf) (Homunculus 2012)

Works in progress:

The Unweaving (SHADER series book 3) Release date: 2012
The Archon’s Assassin (SHADER series book 4) Release date: 2012
The Seventh Horse (Shader Origins) Release date: 2012
Rise of the Nameless Dwarf (SHADER series book 5) Release date: 2013
Saphra (SHADER series book 6) Release date: 2013
Autobiography of a Liche – Release date: 2013/2014

(This is a sponsored post.)


Comments are closed.