Free Book Alert for October 12: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 4,400+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … William S. Shepard’s Murder On The Danube (Today’s Sponsor – $2.99)

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 4,400+ Kindle Free Book listings. Occasionally a title will continue to appear on this list for a short time after it is no longer free on Kindle. ALWAYS check the price on Amazon before making a purchase, please! If a book is free, you should see the following: Kindle Price: $0.00
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
Murder On The Danube” is very well written, informative and entertaining. Reminds me of Eric Ambler's “A Coffin For Demetrios.
John Goodspeed, Star/Democrat
by William S. Shepard
4.8 stars - 8 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
"Robbie" Cutler, a thirtyish American career diplomat, is beginning an assignment as Political Officer at the American Embassy in Budapest. He previously served as Consul in Bordeaux (where he was yanked out for his own safety after exposing a Basque terrorist leader, in Vintage Murder, the first in this series of Robbie Cutler diplomatic mysteries).

The return to Budapest of a prominent Hungarian-American, Janos Magassy, sets off a train of events. Magassy had been the leader of a resistance group during the 1956 Hungarian Revolution. Before its members can meet again, Magassy is brutally murdered in a side street in Obuda. Given the murdered man’s national prominence, American Ambassador Eleanor Horton tells Robbie to keep a close eye on the police investigation. Working in tandem with Inspector Racz of Central Budapest Police Headquarters, Robbie develops leads in the murder.

The 1956 circle linked Eva Molnar, whom Robbie's father, a former diplomat, had failed to save in 1956, and the murdered Magassy. Included also are a currently rising Hungarian politician, Imre Mohacsi, a Ministry of Justice official, Attila Nemzeti, and a prosperous German banker, Attila Szepvaros. Their stories are played out in a continuing flashback to the events of 1956.

Complicating Robbie's investigation is the refusal of the Hungarian Government to open its own intelligence files from the period. Who was the police spy that betrayed them? The search takes him and his visiting sister Evalyn to the border fortress town of Gyula on the Hungarian plain, and even into the Hungarian ethnic regions of Transylvania, for a dramatic encounter with the reclusive Eva Molnar.
A socially adept bachelor, Robbie is much in demand at the many receptions and dinners given by the Budapest diplomatic circuit. He feels himself increasingly drawn to Julie Kovatch, the neglected young wife of the Australian Ambassador, Alexander Kovatch, a violent man, and himself an ethnic Hungarian who had fled that country as a teenager after the 1956 upheaval.
One Reviewer Notes:
The author brilliantly places an intriguing murder against the background of the Hungarian Revolution of 1956. A must read.
Istvan B. Gereben, an eyewitness
About the Author
The author, William S.Shepard, is a former career diplomat who served as Consul and Political Officer at the American Embassy in Budapest. He was made an Honorary Hungarian Freedom Fighter at the 25th anniversary of the 1956 Hungarian Revolution.
UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download
Murder On The Danube (Robbie Cutler Diplomatic Mysteries)
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!

 

« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Cassie and The Wild Cat are back and on the bug hunting attack. It seems their home has been invaded by a pest who thinks he is better than the rest. Can Cassie and The Wild Cat form a team? Or is such a thing nothing but a dream? Join The Wild Cat and Cass as another fun adventure...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
In the novel that Billie Dean Shoemate III calls his personal best, he brings you the story of Nick Stanley, a special child that believes he has touched the other side...communing with an ancient Native American spirit.As Nick grows up, he comes to a profound realization. The spirit...
Read more »
The Shaman
By: Billie Shoemate
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Move over Percy Jackson. The Yogi's Curse has arrived... Zoe and Zak are back in India. Again. And this time they're attending Moonstock Himalayan Boarding School, which might seem fun except for the fact that the school itself is a little strange. Students ride elephants...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
In the tradition of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and the X-Files, comes Brood, a paranormal mystery like no other. A scientist is missing, Alaskan fishermen are getting their fingers bitten off, and the fish that we eat is at the root of a conspiracy that will change us all....
Read more »
Brood: Strange Investigations, Book 1
By: Lars Guignard
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
How To Learn The Eft Tapping Therapy In 5 Minutes?Learn In 5 Minutes How To Overcome Fear, Anxiety, Stress, Addictions, Food Cravings And Other Emotional Problems! Learn Tapping for Wealth & Financial Abundance!What if there was a faster and easier solution to...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The self-published eBook market has grown exponentially in the past few years. It has given talented authors the ability to get their work out into the world without having to go through the painful process of submitting query letters and proposals to book publishers. This is the finest book on...
Read more »
How To Write A Horrible Ebook and Make Everyone Hate You!
By: Smitherington S. Smathers
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
American ChrisBlake finds himself engulfed in solving a 300 year old English mystery andbecomes inadvertently personally involved in the mystery itself when he is leadto a time passage method which sends him back to be the catalyst. When the talevoyages through the...
Read more »
Hamelton (Dr. Paul Book 1)
By: Christopher Blake, Dr. Paul
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A demon is loose in London Town... Professor Thistlequick's day is becoming stranger by the hour. Strange, and utterly frustrating – for despite stumbling upon a wholly new dimension, one that opens to who knows where, his experiment is about to fail, unless he can secure magickal...
Read more »
The Demon of Gloamingspark Yard
By: Eldritch Black
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Like all of the Winships, Charlotte was born with a curious gift. After news of a tragic accident, she races back to her hometown of Port Townsend, Washington. In this isolated seaside village filled with a century of ghosts, she is faced with having to come to terms with her gift of receiving...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Young Adult/ Mature Situations From the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, Addison Moore A paranormal Alice in Wonderland - Kindle review One of the Best YA Paranormal Books I've Read - A...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »


Free Book Alert for October 12: 370 brand new Freebies in the last 24 hours added to Our 4,400+ Free Titles sorted by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … William S. Shepard’s Murder On The Danube (Today’s Sponsor – $2.99)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com