KND Free Book Search Tool: Literary Fiction

Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning's latest additions to our Kindle Free Book listings...
But first, a word from ... Today's Sponsor
by Lee Fullbright
3.8 stars - 428 Reviews
Or currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members Via the Kindle Lending Library
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here's the set-up:
"Raised in a crumbling New England mansion by four women with personalities as split as a cracked mirror, young Francis Grayson has an obsessive need to fix them all. There's his mother, distant and beautiful Magdalene; his disfigured, suffocating Aunt Stella; his odious grandmother; and the bane of his existence, his abusive and delusional Aunt Lothian. For years, Francis plays a tricky game of duck and cover with the women, turning to music to stay sane. He finds a friend and mentor in Aidan Madsen, schoolmaster, local Revolutionary War historian, musician and keeper of the Grayson women's darkest secrets. In a skillful move by Fullbright, those secrets are revealed through the viewpoints of three different people--Aidan, Francis and Francis'stepdaughter, Elyse--adding layers of eloquent complexity to a story as powerful as it is troubling. While Francis realizes his dream of forming his own big band in the 1940s, his success is tempered by the inner monster of his childhood, one that roars to life when he marries Elyse's mother. Elyse becomes her stepfather's favorite target, and her bitterness becomes entwined with a desire to know the real Francis Grayson. For Aidan's part, his involvement with the Grayson family only deepens, and secrets carried for a lifetime begin to coalesce as he seeks to enlighten Francis--and subsequently Elyse--of why the events of so many years ago matter now. The ugliness of deceit, betrayal and resentment permeates the narrative, yet there are shining moments of hope, especially in the relationship between Elyse and her grandfather. Ultimately, as more of the past filters into the present, the question becomes: What is the truth, and whose version of the truth is correct? Fullbright never untangles this conundrum, and it only adds to the richness of this exemplary novel." Kirkus Reviews
Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.
Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.
Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store
Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Mariam Akbar, is one of seven girls kidnapped out of the blue by an international group of mercenaries. And no one except the men responsible know where they are. Aaron Mandrake is pulled into the situation by his millionaire brother, Alexander-Roe Mandrake, and struggles to be loyal...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When you've had your heart broken three times by the same girl, it's not unreasonable to think that you'd have your guard up when you finally found someone new. But old habits die hard, and self-doubt is the most tenacious of them all. 'An Inconvenient Splash' is a short story. ...
Read more »
An Inconvenient Splash
By: Jesse Bastide
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
There's nothing like a knock on the door at 3:00 a.m. to change your life forever. Gus Moore discovers how true this is when his ex-girlfriend blows in on an icy January night just long enough to dump "his problem" on the couch. From indolent single slob to competent single parent, Gus's...
Read more »
Sunflowers
By: Melodie Starkey
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A literary twist on the traditional Christmas story, A Season of Secrets is the perfect winter read for fans of Barbara Kingsolver, LOVE, ACTUALLY, and THE FAMILY STONE. "Expect the unexpected! ... A story with an intriguing premise, an author with a great...
Read more »
A Season of Secrets
By: Anneke Campbell
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
GNOSTIC PROSE POETRY OF HELLISH CONFESSIONS....
Read more »
Astral Hell
By: Jordan Krall
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Psychedelic surrealist horror from the author of HUMANITY IS THE DEVIL....
Read more »
Body Dome Light
By: Jordan Krall
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
More dadaist madness from Antonio Magogoli. This is the first book in his "black" phase....
Read more »
Black Aspirin
By: Antonio Magogoli
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Most men of ambition would kill for the chance to play a bracing game at Pine Valley, the most celebrated, and exclusive, golf course in the world. And in the summer of his 30th birthday, Jeff Carpenter gets his chance. Trouble is, Jeff isn't exactly a man of ambition, having put his...
Read more »
Pine Valley
By: Ged Ruggles
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A new inmate to a Florida prison discovers it is governed by dark secrets....
Read more »
Perish the Day
By: Anthony Starkiewicz
Added:
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Na ścieżkach życia można spotkać różnych ludzi, wydarzenia, przygodę odnaleźć, kropelkę deszczu zauważyć po niedawnej ulewie, kwiaty pyszniące się barwami lata w dociekliwym słońcu, co to w każdą szczelinkę zajrzy, każdą barwę wydobędzie na światło dzienne, po swojemu...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »

8 Responses to KND Free Book Search Tool: Literary Fiction

  1. Carol on May 22, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    I love your site, it’s fantastic. Thank you so much!!

  2. Nancy Wyer on September 12, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    I am 82 and love love my kindle nook..and now my husband wants one. I hope I win one for him!

  3. msdownlow on September 1, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    How about an African American fiction category? I actually have readers who are mad when they get my novel and discover that the main characters are African American. Thanks for this site, it is awesome!

  4. John I. Jones on June 16, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Hello:
    I would like to provide my short story collection “Alabama Stories” to your list of free kindle ebooks.
    How do I do that?
    Thanks!!
    John I. Jones

    • KND on June 16, 2012 at 9:39 am

      Hi Lisa,

      Thanks for being in touch. I am sending along a link to our Kindle Nation Sponsorship Info Page for Authors and Publishers in the event it might be of interest at some point. In addition, your book(s) can be included free on some of our search lists, if applicable. Our database should pick them up for applicable lists, such as the Prime-Eligible Kindle Lending Library listings or the Quality 99-Centers list if they have 4+ stars on 4+ reviews at 99 cents, but you can give them a push if you go to our eBookTracker site, register or log in, and enter them manually.

      We’ve set up a very effective but inexpensive service to help get the word out to our readers above and beyond simply being in the list: http://bit.ly/waZvFS – New from Kindle Nation Daily: A Quick and Easy “Free Book Highlighter” Service to Help Indie Authors Get the Word Out About New Free Book Listings!

      I am also sending along a link to our Kindle Nation Sponsorship Info Page for Authors and Publishers in the event it might be of interest at some point – http://bit.ly/InH97P

      You may also be interested in this post: How can authors make best use of KDP Select free book promotions to turn their books into paid bestsellers? Here’s a three-step approach – http://indie.kindlenationdaily.com/?p=1291

      Cheers,
      Steve

  5. Shanti on January 5, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    Great way to find new writers! Thanks.

  6. Ingrid Stukey on December 18, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Thank you for making these Books available to us. :-)

  7. Ingrid Stukey on December 6, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I just ordered a couple of books for free on my Kindle, Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



References to prices on this website refer to prices on the main Amazon.com website for US customers. Prices will vary for readers located outside the US, and prices for US customers may change at any time. Always check the price on Amazon before making a purchase.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com