Why should I provide my email address?

Start saving money today with our FREE daily newsletter packed with the best FREE and bargain Kindle book deals. We will never share your email address!
Sign Up Now!

What time is it? It’s GIVEAWAY time! Check out Bellingwood Boxed Set: Books 1-3 by Diane Greenwood Muir and find out how you can enter! All Free!

A magical coming-of-age story from Coretta Scott King honor author Jewell Parker Rhodes, rich with Southern folklore, friendship, family, fireflies and mermaids, plus an environmental twist: Bayou Magic

There are secrets only the dead can tell. And some of these secrets refuse to remain buried… The Girl and The Field of Bones by A.J. Rivers

The more you look for love in all the wrong places, the more you wonder if it was right in front of your nose all along… The Dating Itinerary by Brooke Williams

The battle for mankind’s future is upon us… and it rests in the hands of one forgotten soldier… Exodus Ark by J.N. Chaney

Live a better, longer life AND enjoy every moment of it… Unlock Bliss: A Memoir Of Getting Happier by Dr. Zeev Gilkis

What time is it? It’s GIVEAWAY time! Check out A Lotus Grows In The Mud by Goldie Hawn and find out how you can enter!

She shouldn’t have stayed. Now she can’t leave…. Blood Secret by Jaye Ford

Perfect for not-so-scary storytime: Halloween With Snowman Paul by Yossi Lapid

This is not a fairy tale. This is about real witches: The Witches by Roald Dahl

Telling her smoking hot boss that she was married seemed like a good idea at the time…. Working Stiff: Runaway Billionaires #1 by Blair Babylon

For fans of THE DA VINCI CODE, THE RED TENT and THE CONFESSIONS OF YOUNG NERO: The Mystery Of Julia Episcopa by John I. Rigoli and Diane Cummings

previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow
Slider

The Kindle Reader

The Kindle Reader is just the kind of thing we need more, much more, of. It’s an intelligent, thoughtful, well-written blog maintained by Jan, a retired librarian and Kindle owner. She offers reviews on a wide variety of Kindle Edition books. My own preference would be for a few more indie and small-press titles, but Jan’s blog is well worth checking out. After all, I’m just glad she’s reading and sharing her findings. God knows she doesn’t need me or anyone else telling her what to read!

Book publishing trends to watch in 2008

9:15 AM PST, January 20, 2008

Back in 2002, in my book on online bookselling, I have to admit that I took an unenthusiastic view of the much-heralded e-book revolution: “The increasingly universal availability of good used books at good prices will tend to slow the growth of e-books and related concepts such as print-on-demand and diminish the likelihood of concomitant predictions of the demise of the mass-printed book,” I wrote in slightly overblown prose. 

Well, maybe in the world of new technologies 6 years is long enough to earn me a shot at a new prediction. E-books are here to stay, due in large part to the Kindle. Publishing industry guru Mike Shatzkin makes some very interest observations on this topic in his piece “15 Trends to Watch in 2008” in a recent issue of Publishers Weekly. It is well worth reading.

I agree with the basic thrust of the article, except that I would go a little further and say this: for independent publishers, the Kindle will be more important than any other technological development in the past decade because of its potential for helping to market-test publishing projects, to provide audience for quality writing of all kinds, and to begin building the kind of interactive, buzzy, indie community of readers and writers that has long existed in the worlds of indie music and film. To get in on the ground floor of this exciting transformation in independent publishing, you may want to start reading my book on publishing for the Kindle through this terrific pre-publication deal.