Why should I provide my email address?

Start saving money today with our FREE daily newsletter packed with the best FREE and bargain Kindle book deals. We will never share your email address!
Sign Up Now!

KND Kindle Free Book Alert, Thursday, August 18: 20 Brand New Titles in the Past 24 Hours Brings Our Magical Free Book Tool Count to 1,020 FREE TITLES That You Can Search by Category, Date Added, Bestselling or Review Rating! plus … 4.6 Stars on 45 out of 48 Rave Reviews for Holly Weiss’ CRESTMONT (Today’s Sponsor, $2.99)



Powered by our magical Kindle free book tool, here are this morning’s latest additions to our 1,000+ Kindle Free Book listings….

But first, a word from … Today’s Sponsor

“Crestmont is ideal reading for those who want to get away to a simpler past and enjoy the relationships fostered by good will and hard work in the Pennsylvania countryside. ” 

–Dani Alexis

Crestmont
by Holly Weiss
4.6 stars – 48 Reviews
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled 
Don’t have a Kindle? Get yours here.

“Life sucks, or should I say is tough enough, and ‘Crestmont’ is a refreshing escape, one of those pieces of art that transports you to a world of elegance and charm, of babbling brooks and hair bobs and willow trees.

–Gregor Collins



Here’s the set-up: 
 

“A dream, after all, needn’t be fueled by particulars, only by desire.” So notes main character, Gracie Antes, in CRESTMONT, a historical fiction gem set in the 1920s. Determined to take control of her life, sheltered Gracie Antes leaves her unhappy home in 1925 to pursue her dream of a singing career. On her way to the big city, she accepts a job as a housemaid at the bustling Crestmont Inn. Once there, Gracie finds a life-changing encounter with opera singer Rosa Ponselle, family she never imagined could be hers, and a man with a mysterious past. Relive the 1920s with a colorful cast of characters. Discover with Gracie that sometimes we must trade loss for happiness. Set in Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania, the story is interwoven with details about the town, the rich history of The Crestmont Inn, and the family who passed ownership from one generation to the next. Many attempts have been made to explain how the mountaintop lake nestled in this tiny town came to be. Crestmont gives a new twist to an old Native American legend, setting the tone of grace around which the story is built. Let the period of the Roaring Twenties spark your interest with its unique social mores, fashion, jazz, and yes, a little bootlegging thrown in for pizzazz.

One Reviewer Notes:


“After the first world war, many women thought to take control of their own destinies. “Crestmont” tells the story of Gracie Antes as she pushes for her dream as a singer, accepting a job as a housemaid along her journey. Through her pursuit, she meets friends, love, and much heartache along her quest for a better life. “Crestmont” is a fine and riveting read for historical fiction fans, highly recommended.

–Midwest Book Review


About the Author


Holly Weiss was born in New Jersey in 1950. She is a private vocal instructor, retired professional singer and a member of the National Association of Teachers of Singing. A polio survivor, she resides with her husband, Ernie, in upstate New York. She holds a B.S. in Music Education and Master of Music from Northwestern University. Crestmont is her first novel.
Visit her at http://www.hollyweiss.com
Downloadable Readers Guide for book groups on the “About the Book” tab.
The novel is dedicated to her parents.
Ms. Weiss is an advocate for Eradicate Polio Now. http://www.polioeradication.org/Home.aspx

Click hereCrestmontto download Crestmont (or a free sample) to your Kindle, iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, BlackBerry, Android-compatible, PC or Mac and start reading within 60 seconds!

UK CUSTOMERS: Click on the title below to download

Each day’s list is sponsored by one paid title. We encourage you to support our sponsors and thank you for considering them.

Authors and Publishers: Interested in learning more about sponsorship? Just click on this link for more information.

Free Contemporary Titles in the Kindle Store 

Welcome to Kindle Nation’s magical and revolutionary Free Book Search Tool — automatically updated and refreshed in real time, now with Category Search! Use the drop-down menu (in red caps next to the menu bar near the top of the page) to search for free Kindle books by genre or category, then sort the list just the way you want it — by date added, bestselling,, or review rating! But there’s no need to sort by price — because they’re all free!


« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »
Loading
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A TROPICAL CRIME MYSTERY FROM BESTSELLING WRITER D. E. WHITE.When divorcee Chloe leaves London for Bermuda, she's dreaming of sipping Rum Swizzles on the beach.Instead, she finds a famous artist murdered in her new back yard, and Chloe discovers a different side to her Paradise island...A...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
No summary available...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Left to die. She destroyed him. He lives for bittersweet revenge.Rebel barely survived the gut-wrenching betrayal from the woman he loved. Crawling into the bottle after she sold him out and cost his SEAL team their lives, he isn't sure he wants to go on. But when a beautiful girl resembling his ex...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
#1 Amazon Bestseller! Perfect for fans of Ellery Adams, Carlene O'Connor, and Barbara Freethy.“...a deftly crafted and impressively original novel by an author with a genuine flair for originality...certain to be an unusual, immediate and enduringly popular addition to community library...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
From executive assistant for a billionaire to a candy dancer.Those are just the breaks, right? Wrong.Not when the sexy-as-sin boss that fired you decides he’s a little more than interested after he’s already taken your job.If he thinks for one minute he’s getting into these candy panties,...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
A flying pony, a strange sorcerer, and a young boy with a heart as big as the desert.Young Hannan is a shepherd with an unambitious life. Since losing his parents within the wild and perilous sands of the desert, he does nothing more than move his goats from place to place. But his contentment is...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
Nonlinear equations are found throughout science and engineering across a wide variety of disciplines. These are a significant part of applied mathematics and much effort has been devoted to their study and solution. We will consider single and multi-variable problems as well as real and complex...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
The sugar-free cookbookHealthy nutrition for children with 115 recipes to cook at home - ideal for the whole familyIn addition to a large number of different recipes, there is also a large guide section!This book is mostly about our children. They are people who have their entire life ahead of them...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
December 1937. Winston Churchill asks a former adversary, Sean Ryan, for his help to save a woman and her son. Ryan agrees to help, but on his terms. They, and other refugees, are being hunted by a specially formed SS unit, the Alpha Wolves. They are led by Major Krak, a psychopath, known by his...
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
*
*
*For verification purposes only
When two decapitated heads turn up in the Ibrox trophy room, the great and the good of Glasgow are convinced it’s gang warfare. With local crime godfather Steve Black dead and Billy Boyd – his Southside rival – in prison for his murder, there’s a power vacuum that needs filling, and fast....
Read more »
Preview
Report Report Bad Listing
« Previous Page
Only one page of results to display
Next Page »

Bargain Book Alert! 4.6 Stars on 45 Out of 48 Rave Reviews for our Kindle eBook of the Day, CRESTMONT by Holly Weiss, just $2.99 on Kindle!

Let the Roaring Twenties spark your interest with its unique social mores, fashion, jazz, and yes, a little bootlegging thrown in for pizzazz.

 
Here’s the set-up for Holly Weiss’ Crestmont, jut $2.99 on Kindle:

“A dream, after all, needn’t be fueled by particulars, only by desire.”

So notes main character, Gracie Antes, in CRESTMONT, a historical fiction gem set in the 1920s.

Determined to take control of her life, sheltered Gracie Antes leaves her unhappy home in 1925 to pursue her dream of a singing career. On her way to the big city, she accepts a job as a housemaid at the bustling Crestmont Inn.

Once there, Gracie finds a life-changing encounter with opera singer Rosa Ponselle, family she never imagined could be hers, and a man with a mysterious past.

Relive the 1920s with a colorful cast of characters. Discover with Gracie that sometimes we must trade loss for happiness.

Set in Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania, the story is interwoven with details about the town, the rich history of The Crestmont Inn, and the family who passed ownership from one generation to the next. Many attempts have been made to explain how the mountaintop lake nestled in this tiny town came to be.

Crestmont gives a new twist to an old Native American legend, setting the tone of grace around which the story is built.

Let the period of the Roaring Twenties spark your interest with its unique social mores, fashion, jazz, and yes, a little bootlegging thrown in for pizzazz.

 
From the reviewers:

A fine and riveting read for historical fiction fans, highly recommended. – Midwest Book Review

Holly Weiss’ Crestmont is a book that was meant to be read aloud – the depictions are incredibly detailed and the tone of the story is both peaceful and engaging. For the hours I spent reading this book, I was there. And just like the characters, I could sense the healing and tranquility of that place. – Rita

I could not put this book down. There is a little of everything in this book, history, mystery and even romance. I love historical novels and this book transported me back to the 1920’s. – Jennifer S. Brandes

Holly Weiss was born in New Jersey in 1950. She is a private vocal instructor, retired professional singer and a member of the National Association of Teachers of Singing. A polio survivor, she resides with her husband, Ernie, in upstate New York. She holds a B.S. in Music Education and Master of Music from Northwestern University. Crestmont is her first novel.

Visit her at http://www.hollyweiss.com for a video by the author and a readers’ guide for book groups on the “About the Book” tab.

Her singer’s voice led to the author’s voice in 2006. Weiss’s Crestmont journey began when she stayed overnight at The Crestmont Inn in Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania. A spark was lit to explore the lives of people working on staff at a busy summer inn. The 1920s, replete with jazz, prohibition, fashion trends and interesting social mores captured her interest. After extensive research, writing retreats, guidance from God and encouragement from her husband, her debut novel, Crestmont, became a reality three and one-half years later. The novel is dedicated to her parents.

 

And here, in the comfort of your own browser, is your free sample: